Welcome to SymphonyNotes!

Welcome to Symphony Notes!, the official blog of the Lexington Symphony, is the place for concert previews, behind-the-scenes features and personal chats with musicians.

Welcome to Symphony Notes!, the official blog of the Lexington Symphony!

We kicked the season off to a great start on Sept. 17, and now we’re launching into the blogosphere. Posting weekly editions of what’s happening at the Symphony, we'll be giving you an inside look at what’s going on behind the scenes, including some up close and personal chats with our musicians, music director, guest artists, board members, and other members of our community.

So, bookmark Symphony Notes and check back regularly for the latest Symphony news. Here’s a look at what’s going on at the Lexington Symphony now!

After a successful opening night concert, we’re gearing up for our November 5 concert. We’re pleased to welcome back guest conductor Bruce Hangen, music director of the Orchestra of Indian Hill and director of Orchestral Activities at the Boston Conservatory. Maestro Hangen brings experience and passion to his role as conductor, and the symphony musicians are excited to be working with him.

The program begins with The Birds by Italian composer Ottorino Respighi. This audience favorite is in five movements, each inspired by a particular birdsong and the music of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century composers. Each movement is named after a particular bird – the dove, the hen, the nightingale, and the cuckoo. 

Not ready for fall just yet? In addition to music inspired by birdsong, the symphony also presents Les Nuits d’Été (Summer Nights), a setting of six French love poems by Hector Berlioz. Lexington Symphony's performance will feature countertenor Matthew Truss. Praised for his “mellifluous voice and ebullient manner,” Mr. Truss is making his mark as a young countertenor whose “precocious” voice “boasts both beauty and volume.” Mr. Truss received his Bachelor of Music degree from Boston Conservatory with an emphasis in opera performance. Stay tuned for an up close and personal discussion with Mr. Truss next week here at SymphonyNotes!

Finally, in a turn toward winter landscapes, Maestro Hangen will be leading the orchestra in Sibelius' breathtaking Symphony No. 1. First performed in 1899 by the young Jean Sibelius, this symphony was influenced by Tchaikovsky and Borodin, but is clearly the work of a young composer who had already developed a distinct musical voice. Sibelius went on to be a prolific and popular symphonic composer – writing a total of seven stunning symphonies. He was inspired by the bleak landscape of Finland, and said of one of his symphonies that it reminded him of “the scent of the first snow.”

For information about the Nov. 5 performance, or to buy tickets, go here. Have questions? Email Lexington Symphony General Manager Vanessa Gardner at vanessa@lexingtonsymphony.org.

This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

Denise J. Dubé October 25, 2011 at 01:20 PM


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »